You are here

People - Faculty

Aleksandr Aravkin
Assistant Professor
saravkin@uw.edu / (206) 685-5088
Lewis 317
Chris Bretherton
Professor Joint with Atmospheric Sciences
breth@amath.washington.edu / (206) 685-7414
Atmospheric Sciences/Geophysics Building 704
Associate Professor
hetmaniu@uw.edu
Office Hours: By appointment
Lewis 327
Mark Kot
Associate Professor
mark_kot@comcast.net / (206) 543-0908
Lewis 230B
J. Nathan Kutz
Robert Bolles and Yasuko Endo Professor , Adjunct Professor of Electrical Engineering and Physics
kutz@uw.edu / (206) 685-3029
Lewis 118
Tim Leung
Associate Professor, Director of Computational Finance and Risk Management Program
timleung@uw.edu
Office Hours: By appointment (email)
Lewis 217
RJL Photo
Boeing Professor of Applied Mathematics, Adjunct Professor of Mathematics, Adjunct Professor of Earth & Space Sciences
rjl@amath.washington.edu / (206) 685-3037
Lewis 328
Hong Quian
Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator, Adjunct Professor in Bioengineering
qian@amath.washington.edu / (206) 543-2584
Lewis 319
Emanuel Todorov
Associate Professor Joint with Computer Science & Engineering
etodorov@amath.washington.edu / (206) 616-3568
CSE 409
Ka-Kit Tung
Professor of Applied Mathematics, Undergraduate Advisor, Adjunct Professor in Atmospheric Science
tung@amath.washington.edu / (206) 685-3794
Lewis 323

Adjunct Professors

Bingni Wen Brunton
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Applied Mathematics, Assistant Professor of Biology
bbrunton@u.washington.edu
Steven Brunton
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Applied Mathematics, Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
sbrunton@uw.edu / (206) 685-3037
Lewis 328
Lucien Brush
Adjunct Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Associate Professor and Chairman of Materials Science and Engineering
brush@uw.edu
Roberts 331
Jim Burke
Adjunct Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor of Mathematics
burke@math.washington.edu / (206) 543-6183
Padelford C-443
Ioana Dumitriu
Adjunct Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor of Mathematics
dumitriu@math.washington.edu / (206) 616-8164
Padelford C-342
Dale R. Durran
Adjunct Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor and Chair of Atmospheric Sciences
drdee@uw.edu / (206) 543-7440
ATG Building 408A
Adrienne Fairhall
Adjunct Professor of Applied Mathematics, Associate Professor of Physiology and Biophysics
fairhall@uw.edu / (206) 616-4148
Archis Ghate
Adjunct Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering
archis@u.washington.edu / (206) 685-3072
AERB 141D
Elizabeth Halloran
Adjunct Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor of Biostatistics
betz@u.washington.edu / (206) 667-2722
Mail Stop M2-C200
David Masiello
Adjunct Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Associate Professor of Chemistry
masiello@chem.washington.edu / (206) 543-5579
Soumik Pal
Adjunct Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Associate Professor of Mathematics
soumik@uw.edu
James Riley
Adjunct Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor of Mechanical Engineering
rileyj@u.washington.edu / (206) 543-5347
Mechanical Engineering Building 314
John Sylvester
Adjunct Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor of Mathematics
sylvest@u.washington.edu / (206) 543-1158
Padelford C-138
Gunther Uhlmann
Adjunct Professor of Applied Mathematics, Walker Family Endowed Professor of Mathematics
gunther@math.washington.edu / (206) 543-1946
Padelford C-449

Professors Emeriti

William O. Criminale
Professor Emeritus, Joint with Geophysics and Oceanography
wocriminale@gmail.com
Jirair Kevorkian
Professor Emeritus, Joint with Aeronautics and Astronautics
kevork@amath.washington.edu / (206) 543-6068
Douglas Martin
Professor Emeritus, Professor of Statistics, Adjunct Professor of Finance, Former Chair of the Department of Statistics
doug@amath.washington.edu
Lewis 217
James D. Murray
Professor Emeritus, Professor Emeritus of Mathematical Biology, Oxford University, Senior Scholar, Princeton University, Visiting Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Princeton University
murrayjd@uw.edu / (609) 924-5124
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Guyot Hall, Princeton University Princeton NJ 08544-2016 USA
Robert O’Malley
Professor Emeritus
omalley@amath.washington.edu / (206) 685-1905
Lewis 230E

Affiliate Professors

Carl de Boor
Affiliate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor Emeritus of Computer Science and Mathematics, University of Wisconsin, Madison
crdeboor@gmail.com / (360) 376-1685
Michael Buice
Affiliate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Scientist II, Allen Institute for Brain Science
John E. Dennis, Jr.
Affiliate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Noah Harding Professor Emeritus and Research Professor of Computational and Applied Mathematics, Rice University
dennis@caam.rice.edu / (713) 348-4094
Dobromir Dimitrov
Affiliate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Senior Staff Scientist, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Mark Lewis
Affiliate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor of Biological Sciences and Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, University of Alberta
mark.lewis@ualberta.ca / (780) 492-0197
Georg Luebeck
Affiliate Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Researcher, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
gluebeck@fhcrc.org / (206) 667-4282
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Program in Mathematical & Computational Biology M1-B514, 1100 Fairview Ave. N., P.O. Box 19024, Seattle, WA 98109-1024
Stefan Mihalas
Affiliate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Assistant Investigator, Allen Institute for Brain Science
stefanm@alleninstitute.org
Suresh H. Moolgavkar
Affiliate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Vice President, Exponent, Principal Scientist & Center Director, Epidemiology & Computational Biology
smoolgavkar@exponent.com / (206) 618-3954
John Lawrence Nazareth
Affiliate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, Washington State University
nazareth@amath.washington.edu
Joshua Proctor
Affiliate Assistant Professor of Applied Mathematics, Senior Research Scientist, Institute for Disease Modeling, Affiliate Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
JoshLProctor@gmail.com
Peter J. Schmid
Affiliate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor of Applied Mathematics and Mathematical Physics, Imperial College London
pjs@amath.washington.edu / (206) 685-2971
Panos Stinis
Affiliate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Scientist, Northwest Institute for Advanced Computing, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
panos.stinis@pnnl.gov
Frederic Yui-Ming Wan
Affiliate Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor of Mathematics, University of California, Irvine
fwan@math.uci.edu / (949) 824-5529

Affiliate Instructors

David Carino
Research Fellow Russell Investments
Mark Everitt
Managing Director, Blackrock Alternative Advisors
Chief Investment Officer UW Endowment/Investment Management
Jay Henniger
Head of Model Review and Analytics OneWest Bank
Yindeng Jiang
Senior Investment Analyst UW Endowment/Investment Management
John McMurray
Chief Risk Officer Russell Investments
Steven Murray
Director of Asset Allocation Strategies, Russell Investments
Garth Reistad
Deputy Chief Investment Officer UW Endowment/Investment Management

In Memoriam

Name Title
Pearson, Carl E. Professor Emeritus, Joint with Aeronautics and Astronautics
Share